Cardinals hit 5 home runs in 10-3 win over Phillies

When the opposing pitcher hits a homer, you know you’re in for a long night. Cardinals RHP Adam Wainwright, smashed a 408 ft three run shot in the bottom of the fourth inning to tie the game at 3-all. The Cardinals went on to snap a four game winning streak by defeating the Phillies 10-3.

“Right now, it’s all about wins for me,” Wainwright said. “We’ve got to win the game when I take the mound until I get back to 100 percent ready to rock and roll like I’m going to. But that homer woke us up, we had some ducks on the pond there and I came through.”

Wainwright pitched six innings, allowing three earned runs and five hits. With the victory, he improved to (2-3) on the season and has won two straight. 

usatsi_9264511-565x369

The Phillies took a 3-0 lead in the third inning thanks to three singles and a walk. SS Freddy Galvis drove in the two runs with a bases loaded double to left center.

Rookie SS Aledmys Diaz, 1B Matt Adams, and CF Randal Grichuk all added solo homers and 2B Kolten Wong roped a two run bomb to help St. Louis overcome a 3-0 deficit and avoid its first five game losing streak. The sixth run came from Stephen Piscotty‘s RBI single and the final run for the Cardinals occurred after an RBI single by Brandon Moss in the eighth inning. 

“Everything was good,” Wainwright said. “I’ve got to get my hook going better. I’ve got to get the curveball to not be so loopy. I expect it to be right and it will be eventually. I was very confident coming into the game. From the first pitch I threw in Arizona, I knew I was on the right track. I’m very close, I really am.”

Jeremy Hellickson (2-2) was the starter for the Phillies in last night’s contest. He got chased after 5 1/3 innings, giving up six runs, seven hits, and four walks.

Philadelphia manager Pete Mackanin voiced his opinion on the loss after the game. “We haven’t had one of those games in a while,” Mackanin told the reporters. “It’s bound to happen to everyone now and then. We jumped out to a three run lead and we just couldn’t hold it.”

The Phillies continue their series against St. Louis tonight where Aaron Nola (1-2) and Michael Wacha (2-1) will duel it out on the hill. Coverage starts at 8:10 PM ET.

Leave a Reply

